

The 2024 Isaac Hecker Award for Social Justice

Information and Nomination Guidelines

Since 1974, the Paulist Center Community has presented the Isaac Hecker Award for Social Justice to an outstanding North American Catholic. Recipients of the award have included locally and nationally recognized women and men – lay people, sisters, priests, and bishops. Some have been involved in direct service to those in need, others in advocacy work and the transformation of structures and institutions. Many of the recipients have been committed to both these dimensions of social action. Most of them overtly and directly connected their faith and action. All have been committed to building a more just and peaceful world. The past recipients are listed on the reverse side.

Isaac Hecker, the founder of the Paulist Fathers, was particularly concerned with the growth and development of American Catholicism. Isaac Hecker and the early Paulists devoted themselves to mission preaching and communication of the Word of God. Hecker's spirituality involved looking to the heart, listening to the Spirit, and living in America. The Award was named to honor Isaac Hecker.

Typical nominations, from Paulist Center Community Members, are 2-5 pages in length with a cover letter expressing the specific reason for which you nominate the person(s). Nominations include:

- Biographical information with details pertinent to your nomination.
- Detailed description of the nominee's social justice activities or project; include how the nominee calls the Paulist Center to further its social mission.
- Supportive information about other social justice activities in which the nominee has been involved, e.g. articles about or by nominee.
- Names and contact information of two references.

Susan Rutkowski, Pastoral Minister, is available for consultation before the deadline. The Committee has only your written nomination upon which to consider your nominee so please include as much detail as you think we may need to contemplate your selection.

Deadline: July 15, 2024

Send nominations to: Susan Rutkowski The Paulist Center, 5 Park Street, Boston, MA 02108 (617) 948-2426 www.paulistcenter.org

Past Recipients of the Isaac Hecker Award for Social Justice

	i ast itemptents of the	isaac meeker mara tor bonar bushee
1974	Dorothy Day	Catholic Worker
1975	Bishop Thomas Gumbleton	Peace Activist
1976	UFW - Cesar Chavez	Justice for Farm Workers
1977	Marie Augusta Neal, SND	Educating for justice
	Fr. Tom Corrigan	Fair Share: neighborhood organizing
1979		Rosie's Place: homeless women
	Paul Sullivan	Pine Street Inn: homeless men
	Sara Ehrmann	Advocacy against the Death Penalty
	Carol Coston, OP	Network: Social Justice Lobby
1983		Bridge Over Troubled Water: homeless adolescents
1,00	Barbara Scanlon, CSJ	
1984	Bishop Leroy T. Matthiesen	Nuclear Disarmament (Amarillo)
	Sr. Rose Marie Cummins, OP	Centro Presente: Central American Refugees
	Joe Holland	American Catholic Laity
	Larry Kessler	AIDS Action Committee
	Mary Hunt & Diann Neu	Women's Alliance for Theology, Ethics, and Ritual
	James O'Connell, M.D.	Health Care for the Homeless
	Charles & Pauline Sullivan	CURE: prison reform
	Carole Rossi, OP	Cross cultural neighborhood empowerment
	Archbishop Hunthausen	Justice in the Church & Society
	John Keck	Handicapped Encounter Christ
	Helen Prejean, CSJ	Anti-Death Penalty & Reconciliation
	Jeannine Gramick, SSND &	Ministry to Gay & Lesbian Catholics
	Robert Nugent, SDS	Ministry to Gay & Lesbian Catholies
1996	Lena Deevy, LSA	Anti-racism & Immigrant Outreach
1997	Kay Doherty	Anti-racism and -poverty
1998	All Past Recipients Honored	Celebration of 25 years of social justice ministry
1999	Roy Bourgeois, MM	School of the Americas Watch
2000	Margaret Leonard, LSA	Project Hope: family homelessness
2001	Carol Prejean Zippert	21st Century Youth Leadership Movement
2002	Mary Murphy, SND de Namur	Notre Dame Education Center for Immigrants
2003		Ministry to victims of clergy sexual abuse
	Fred Enman, SJ	Matthew 25: homeless families
2005	Dr. Paul Farmer	Partners In Health
	Martin Sheen	Peace and Justice Activist
	Claire & Scott Schaeffer-Duffy	Peace Activists & Catholic Workers
	Jon Fuller, SJ	AIDS/HIV Ministry
2009	Edwina Gateley	VMM, Genesis House, Sophia's Circle
2010	Mary McHale	Sancta Maria House
	Megan McKenna	Writer and Poet
	Greg Boyle, SJ	Homeboy Industries
2013	Women Religious of LCWR	Leadership Conference of Women's Religious
	Dr. Phyllis Zagano	Greater recognition of the dignity of all persons
	Suzanne & Brayton Shanley	Agape Community
2016	William B. Evans	Boston Police Commissioner
2017	Jane O'Connor	Educator
2018	Colleen Kelly	Families for Peaceful Tomorrows
2019	Joan Chittester, OSB	Author, Theologian, International Lecturer
	Fr. Bryan Massingale	For Racial and LGBTQ+ Justice
2021		BeLikeBrit Foundation Haiti
2022		Catholic Charities of the Rio Grande Valley
2023	Fran Ludwig	Boston Catholic Climate Movement
	0	